Southeast Missouri Where:  Southeast Missouri Scholastic Publications Association’s 41st Annual Workshop at SEMO
Southeast Missouri Where: Southeast Missouri Scholastic Publications Association’s 41st Annual Workshop At SEMO
Posted on 01/14/2015
The Beacon StaffThe newspaper and yearbook staffs of Jefferson HS brought home a combined three trophies for their 2013-2014 publications from the Southeast Missouri Scholastic Publications Association's 41st Annual Workshop held on the campus of Southeast Missouri State University on Sept. 18.

The Newspaper (The Beacon) won second place for Front Page Layout and second place for Features Double Page Spread Layout. The co-editors of the newspaper are Molly Hill and Blaise Torrence; both were on staff last year. Other returning staff members include Jacob Ellenberger and Kenny Williams. 

The Yearbook (The Aviary) won second place for Theme Development. The 2014 theme, “That Moment When,” played off the popular Twitter hashtag and detailed students’ memorable moments throughout the school year. The co-editors of the yearbook are Karlie Usery and Eva Govreau; both were on staff last year. Other returning staff members include Rebecca Wilkes, Courtney Eisenbeis and Devyn Clifton. 

More than 400 students representing over 30 schools attended the workshop. Both publications are advised by Christy Hueter, English and Journalism Teacher.   

For more information, contact Christy Hueter, 314-443-3388.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.